Homemade Recipe: Chicken Pot Pie and Whole Wheat Pie Crust

I have been meaning to make Chicken Pot Pie for quite some time… and I finally got around to doing so last night (we didn’t end up eating until close to 9… but hey, it was well worth the wait!)

If you like homemade things, this is very, very homemade! Today, I will be sharing the recipe that I used for the whole wheat pie crust (super easy by the way) and the chicken pot pie. We will start with the pie crust.

Whole Wheat Pie Crust Recipe

What you will need:

  • 2 1/2 Cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
  • 2/3 Cup Butter (softened)
  • About 1/2 Cup Cold Water (I ended up using a little more)

Whole Wheat Pie Crust

Step 1: Mix the whole wheat flour, salt, and butter together in a bowl. Mix using a fork (or I used my hands.. yeah I’m a little adventurous like that… I must get it from my mom). Mix until the butter is well incorporated and the mixture looks crumbly.

Step 2: Slowly add in your water (giving it a good mix in between pours). Just add enough water until a nice sturdy dough forms. For me, I ended up having to use just a little more than 1/2 cup of cold water.

Whole Wheat Pie Crust

Step 3: Take your big ball of dough and separate it into 2 equal size balls of dough. One will be the top crust, the other the bottom. I have to admit that I have fun with this step… I used my hand to “Karate chop” an indentation in the dough so I knew where to separate it… I am not ashamed. Have fun when you bake/cook!

Whole Wheat Pie Crust     Whole Wheat Pie Crust

Step 4: Roll out each dough ball! Roll out the dough to the shape of the pan that you are using. But also keep in mind how thick it is. I like a thicker crust, so I didn’t roll it out too thin. Just enough to cover my pan.

Note: A technique that I have developed in order to get a pretty good circle when I roll out dough, is to take the ball and flatten it in my hand. Then I start to pull on all sides of the dough to just expand my circle. Then I put it back on the table and use my hands to make the dough an even bigger circle… then I get my rolling pin and roll away! Try to put the same amount of pressure on the dough when you are using the rolling pin, so each side spreads out evenly. Roll in every direction!

Whole Wheat Pie Crust     Whole Wheat Pie Crust

Step 5: Take 1 of the the flattened circles and line your pan with it! I just used a standard size round pan for this recipe… but if you have a pie pan, I suggest using that… it was a bit tricky getting our first serving of this yummy dish out!

Okay, great! We are all done with the pie crust now! It’s time to move on to the main reason for this dish… the chicken and veggies!

Chicken Pot Pie Recipe:

What you need:

  • 1 lb skinless, Chicken cubed (You can use chicken breasts or I used frozen tenderloins.. just make sure to thaw out your frozen meat first)
  • 1 1/2 Cups sliced Carrots
  • 1 Cup frozen Peas (these don’t have to be thawed)
  • 1 Cup chopped Broccoli
  • 1/2 Cup thinly sliced Celery
  • 3 Tablespoons Butter
  • 1 Tablespoon Onion Powder
  • 1/3 Cup All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1/4 Teaspoon ground Black Pepper (my suggestion is to use a little more)
  • 1 3/4 Cup Chicken Broth
  • 2/3 Cup Milk
  • Pie crust (using the recipe that you previously read about… 😛 )

Peas, Carrots, Brocolli, Chicken, Celery, Chicken pot pie

Step 1: Chop up your veggies (carrots, peas, broccoli, celery) and your chicken.. Chop the chicken up to be about 1 inch cubes (or bite size pieces). Throw them all into a pot and cover with water. On medium heat, cook for about 15-20 minutes. Or until chicken is no longer pink in the middle and the veggies are tender.

Chicken pot pie

When the veggies and meat are done, drain and keep to the side. At this point I preheated my oven to 425 degrees F.

Note: While waiting for the veggies and chicken to be done… I went ahead and made my pie crust! I also went ahead with the next step while I was waiting.

Chicken pot pie

Step 2: On medium heat melt your butter in a saucepan. Add in the onion powder… appreciate the smell of the onion powder in the warm butter (it smells good!) Add in the chicken stock and milk. Then add in your salt and pepper, and flour. Whisk all the ingredients together and let simmer on medium-low heat for about 5 minutes (or until it thickens up).

Chicken pot pie in whole wheat pie crust

Step 3: Pour the chicken and veggies into the bottom of the pie crust. Then pour the sauce over your chicken and veggies.

Chicken pot pie

Step 4: Cover up your pie with the top crust! Pinch together the edges and create slits in the top (this allows steam to escape). Now put it in the oven! (temperature at 425 degrees F) Bake for about 30-35 minutes. You want the crust to be golden, and the inside to be bubbly.

Chicken pot pie     Chicken pot pie

Here is the wonderful chicken pot pie complete! It tasted really (I mean really) good. And homemade is always better than store bought. No preservatives, and less salt! You know exactly what you are putting in, and can alter recipes to your taste buds (I am guilty of doing this a lot)! One thing I would do differently about this dinner, is to add more black pepper to it. But that’s it! Even though this recipe does require a bit more time than most.. it’s definitely worth the wait! Enjoy making your own homemade, whole wheat pie crust for your homemade chicken pot pie! Bon appetit!

One thought on “Homemade Recipe: Chicken Pot Pie and Whole Wheat Pie Crust

  1. Pingback: Making Apple Pie With My Mom | SamLovesBaking

Leave a comment