Totally Homemade Pumpkin Pie Recipe

Most of you guys have probably been wondering lately; “SamLovesBaking, oh ok, this is a baking blog… But where are all the food posts?” So yes, this started out as a food blog… and food related posts have been sparse lately… sorry! I’ve been branching out into the world of Etsy and have only been talking about AnArtzieMission lately.

Let me make up for it with this totally awesome, absolutely delicious, best I’ve ever eaten pumpkin pie recipe!

Totally Homemade Pumpkin Pie Recipe

I used two different blogs to create the masterpiece you see above ^^

I got the pumpkin puree recipe from The Pioneer Woman. And huge shocker alert… I didn’t change anything about the recipe! Did you catch that? I didn’t change the recipe. Ask anyone and that’s a pretty huge thing for me. (As you’ll see with the next part). My only note about the pumpkin puree recipe is that I only used, and needed, one pumpkin. I was able to get 3 cups of puree out of it, and that was plenty to make this pumpkin pie and a batch of pumpkin chocolate chip muffins! (future blog post alert)

The recipe I used for the actual pumpkin pie part I got from Sally’s Baking Addiction. This I did change up… but not too much. 😉 Also, I didn’t use Sally’s pie crust recipe, so I can’t back it up, but the rest of it was delicious so I’m sure that will be too!

To help you guys from having to flip back and forth between these two sites, I’ll give you a condensed version here: But by all means feel free to use their sites, because I did change up the actual pie part. And quite frankly their blogging styles are really enjoyable and fun to read! It’s almost like they are baking right there with you  🙂 –Like The Pioneer Woman could be saying to me “It’s okay Sam that you almost burned the pumpkin because you didn’t hear the timer go off, you goof!”

For the pumpkin puree (from The Pioneer Woman)

1 Whole Pie Pumpkin (I used 1 instead of 2)

Cut the top off the pumpkin and then cut the pumpkin in half. Scrape out the seeds and pulp from the center. (Save the seeds to roast them!)

Repeat until all the pumpkin pieces are largely free of seeds and pulp.

Place pumpkin pieces on a baking sheet (face up or face down) and roast in a 350-degree oven for 45 minutes, or until pumpkin is fork-tender. They should be nice and light golden brown when done. —Yeah I accidentally left mine in there for probably another 15 minutes, they were almost too brown, but still tasted great! *Phew*

Peel off the skin from the pumpkin pieces. If you have a food processor, throw in a few chunks at a time. A blender will work, too, if you add a little water. Or you can simply mash it up with a potato masher, or move it through a potato ricer, or process it through a food mill. –I made the mistake of filling my food processor to the top, it was really hard to puree the pumpkin evenly, so just stick to one layer at a time.

Pulse the pumpkin until smooth. If it looks too dry, add in a few tablespoons of water during the pulsing to give it the needed moisture. (Note, if the puree is overly watery, you should strain it on cheesecloth or over a fine mesh strainer to get rid of some of the liquid.)

Continue until all the pumpkin is pureed.

**You can either use this immediately in whatever pumpkin recipe you’d like, store it in the freezer for later use.**

(I got 3 cups out of my pumpkin, so I was able to use 2 cups right away and freeze 1 cup to use in pumpkin chocolate chip muffins when Spencer gets home from Japan.–Yeah that’s right Japan. I’m gunna miss him!)

To store in the freezer, spoon the pumpkin into a quart size plastic storage bag. Seal the bag with just a tiny bit of an opening remaining, then use your hands to flatten out the pumpkin inside the bag and push out the air. Store them in the freezer until you need them.

For the Pumpkin Pie! (adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction…. so yes, I changed stuff up)

  • Homemade Pie Crust(Sally’s recipe) (full recipe makes 2 crusts: 1 for bottom, 1 for leaf (or pumpkin) decor)
  • 2 cups pumpkin puree
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 and 1/4 cups light brown sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon cornstarch (I didn’t have any so I used arrowroot powder (plus some if runny))
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • cinnamon (add to your liking… Sally suggests 1 1/2 tsp… I probably used close to a tablespoon… yeah… I love cinnamon)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 and 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 tablespoon of butter-melted

Sally’s directions for her pie crust: Make the pie crust through step 7 according to my directions, explanations, and visuals.

For the filling: Whisk the pumpkin, eggs, and brown sugar together until combined. Add the arrowroot powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, milk and butter. Vigorously whisk until everything is combined. Filling will be a little thick. **My filling was not thick, I ended up adding some flour and got it to be not too runny. But the filling still tasted amazing!

Preheat oven to 375F degrees.

Roll out the chilled pie crust: Remove second pie dough from the refrigerator. On a floured work surface, turn the dough about a quarter turn after every few rolls until you have a circle 12 inches in diameter. Carefully place the dough into a 9-inch deep dish pie. Tuck it in with your fingers, making sure it is smooth. With a small and sharp knife, trim the extra overhang of crust and discard. Poke some holes in the bottom and sides of the crust with a fork. Crimp the edges with your fingers, if desired.  Pre-bake crust for 10 minutes.

Pour pumpkin pie filling into the pre-baked crust. (I had left over, so I made a mini pumpkin pie that I baked for 30 minutes, same temperature)

Use a pie crust shield while the pie is baking! I kept mine on the whole time, because the edges were a nice golden color already after the initial crust bake. Bake the pie until the center is set. Check for doneness at minute 50, and then 55, and then 60, etc.

Sally adds her pie crust decorations at the end after they have been baked separately. I cut out my pumpkin shapes while the pie was baking and added them in the last 10 minutes before the pie was done and sprinkled them with some cinnamon sugar. They turned out great!

—-

The combination of recipes I found for a totally homemade pumpkin pie was way too good to not share with you guys! If you try this out I would love to hear from you! Enjoy!

 

**Typically I have way more pictures of the food I make! I must apologize because I wasn’t planning on blogging about this at the time! I took that picture on my cell phone 😛 The pie is already gone.

Leave a Reply

