Frozen Coffee Protein Shake

I know I’ve been really bad about posting blogs lately.. it’s been over a month!

My attention and focus has been on Bruce, our super adorable puppy, and more importantly illustrating a children’s book with my mom (in-law).

BruceLaptop

Clearly I haven’t been able to blog because this guy is a computer hog.

BrucePlaying

But look at that face!

The children’s book my mom (in-law) and I are working on is solely scripture based to help children who are sick understand God’s love for them and His promises for their healing. It’s been a super fun process and if you want to see the preview we have for the book click here.

Hope With Jesus

Ok, enough with my rambling….

TO THE SHAKE!

DSCN1293

I’ve never had much luck with making anything in the blender.. just ask Spencer when I tried to make chocolate mint tea in a shake form. Spoiler… it turned out down right nasty. So I didn’t have high hopes for this recipe, but I wasn’t going to be wasting too many ingredients if it turned out bad… so I went for it! I was really wanting to make a smoothy the way my super awesome and healthy sister (in-law) makes hers… but I didn’t have like any of the ingredients. So I went with what I have. This recipe isn’t that bad for you, but when you add fruit it’s always healthier.

FROZEN COFFEE PROTEIN SHAKE (Recipe makes 1 tall glass worth)

What You Need:

  • 1 cup Milk (any kind you like)
  • 2 tablespoons Honey (adjust for your preference of sweetness)*
  • 1 dash Vanilla*
  • 1/2 scoop of Chocolate Protein Powder (using the scoop that comes with it.. if I had to guess I would say it’s a little less than 1/4 cup)
  • 1 tablespoon Instant Coffee granules (mine was vanilla flavored)
  • 2 cups Ice
  • 1/3 cup Finely Chopped Dark Chocolate (or any other chocolate you can get your hands on)

Step 1: Throw everything in the blender except the chocolate chips. Pulse until everything is well blended.

Step 2: Add in the chocolate and pulse just enough to mix it throughout your drink.

Step 3: Pour your drink into a tall glass… and ENJOY!

DSCN1294

*If you use sweetened almond milk (or another sweet milk), try this drink without the honey and vanilla first, since that milk is a lot sweeter than regular milk and already has the vanilla flavoring.

*** Please note that you will want to lick the sides of the blender! It’s okay, I won’t judge you. Just don’t lick the blades!

 

Leave a Reply

