Almond Butter Protein Bars

Almond Butter Protein Bars.... super yummy! And way healthy !

Here is my long over-do blog post (sorry everyone). It has been a pretty crazy couple of weeks with my birthday, a dear friend visiting, and Spencer getting the flu (he is all better now). But I’m back! And here to share a little story before our recipe.

This morning I just about had a mini episode.. my heart totally skipped a beat, and not in a ‘cute’ way. A couple hours (exactly) after Spencer left for work I walked into our upstairs bathroom and out of the corner of my eye saw something on the mirror. I blame my overactive imagination and the amount of scary movies that I’ve seen… because my first thought was that someone broke into our apartment and left a note for me. I seriously thought I was done for. For like a second. Of course it was actually a really sweet note from Spencer… but don’t ask why I didn’t assume that from the beginning. Since that is clearly the most logical situation.

Spencer’s “P.S. This isn’t sharpie” was a nice touch.

Almond Butter Protein Bars.... super yummy! And way healthy !

So let’s get to the recipe! Doesn’t that chocolate look sooo good?

HOMEMADE ALMOND BUTTER PROTEIN BARS

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Almonds
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups Old Fashioned Oats (Quick Oats would probably work too)
  • 1/4 cup Protein Powder (I used Chocolate)
  • 1 tablespoon Ground Flax Seed
  • 1/3 cup Maple Syrup
  • 1.5 ounces Chocolate (I used four squares off of a bark of Dark Chocolate… if using Chocolate Chips use about 1/4 cup)

Almond Butter Protein Bars.... super yummy! And way healthy !

Step 1: Process 3/4 of the almonds in a food processor until you get almond butter (this will take about 15 minutes so hang in there). Put the other 1/4 cup of almonds off to the side.

Step 2: Once you have your almond butter just add in the rest of your ingredients! (Minus the chocolate and extra almonds, those are for topping) Process until the batter is smooth and thick (but not dry).

Step 3: Press the batter into a lightly greased 8X8 pan until even.

Step 4: Chop the remaining almonds into little pieces and press into the top of the batter.

Step 5: Melt your chocolate until thin enough to drizzle, and drizzle away! If you want to add more chocolate go for it! Adding chocolate chips to the batter would be delicious as well!

Step 6: Put the pan into the fridge for at least 20 minutes (or until the batter firms up). Once done, cut your bars into the desired size (I got 10 bars) and individually wrap in plastic wrap and store in the fridge.

Almond Butter Protein Bars.... super yummy! And way healthy !

Enjoy!

ALTERATIONS: The first batch I made of these I used a little more than 1 cup of oat flour instead of oats. They turned out just as delicious, just not as firm. The texture of the batter was smoother but taste wise they are about the same. If you don’t like the texture of oats then try using oat flour. They are just a little messier.

2 thoughts on “Almond Butter Protein Bars

  1. That’s really sweet that he left a note for you! No worries though I’m pretty sure I would have also thought my mirror was haunted or something…gotta love a hyperactive imagination haha. These protein bars look great, I live off protein bars (horrible I know) so I’ll definitely have to try these to avoid all the icky chemical additives they usually have. Do you have any suggestions for a substitute for protein powder if I don’t have any on hand?

    • Hi Rebecca! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 haha I am glad that I am not the only one that would jump to such a ridiculous conclusion! You should definitely try this out! This whole recipe is jam packed with protein from pretty much every main ingredient, but if you don’t have any protein powder on hand (or want to stay away from the additives in protein powders) there are a couple different things you could do.

      1) You could use more ground flax seed than the 1 tablespoon called for. 1 tablespoon of ground flax seed is almost 2 grams of protein. Flax seed is also a great source of fiber… so if your body isn’t used to the concentrated fiber start off with a smaller amount in the recipe and increase every time you use it! Flax seed can be substituted in a 1:1 ratio. (I don’t particularly recommend this, because that is a lot of flax seed to the ratio of the other ingredients, but if you consume flax seed a lot and in larger amounts, your body can most likely handle it!)
      2) You could substitute quinoa flour for the protein powder as well. I have never worked with quinoa flour, but I’ve read that it can be substituted in a 1:1 ratio and is packed with protein (it’s considered a complete protein grain). Here is a great link on how to make quinoa flour: http://homemadeadventure.wordpress.com/how-tos/how-to-make-quinoa-flour/ (You can just stick it straight into the food processor, or follow her steps on toasting the quinoa first!)
      3) Another good source of protein is oats! And while there are already oats in this recipe, making oat flour and using that to substitute the protein powder would also work. If you go with this option process oats in the food processor until you get 1/4 cup of oat flour, and still use the 1 1/2 cups of oats to add into the almond butter.

      I hope this helped Rebecca! Let me know what you end up using to replace the protein powder with! When I read about the quinoa flour, it made me very curious to try it out myself! Also, if you do use something other than protein powder I suggest adding in some other flavoring to this. Since the flavor of the protein powder will be gone. So adding in some cocoa powder, etc would work well!

Leave a Reply

