Artisan “Swizza” Bread

DSCN0326

Yesterday I made some homemade, normal, Artisan Bread (click for the link). It was my first successful attempt at making bread! And I guess you could say now I think that I’m a real bread baker… because today I made what my husband labelled “Swizza” bread. (You will understand once I tell you what’s in it!)

This bread is being called ‘Swizza’ bread because it has Swiss cheese, pizza seasoning, and crushed red pepper flakes. Trust me, this is amazing!

Taking up my work shop     DSCN0321

Spencer took over my photo shoot area with this out-of-the-blue project. Poor guy’s power supply for his laptop just up and quit on him. So he started to tinker. Unfortunately he wasn’t able to fix it and now he can’t use his computer. 😦

But the bright side to this day was the super awesome bread that I’m about to share with you guys.

DSCN0323

What you need:

  • 2 cups Warm Water
  • 1 tablespoon Yeast (1 packet of yeast is slightly less than a Tablespoon)
  • 2 teaspoons Salt
  • 3 tablespoons Sugar
  • 2 cups All Purpose Flour
  • 2 cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1 tablespoon Pizza Seasoning
  • Swiss Cheese*
  • Cooking Spray/Olive Oil

*I really wish I had a block of Swiss cheese for this recipe. All I had were thinly sliced pieces; I ended up using 3 slices. I will definitely use more next time and I would suggest using 8 ounces, at least, of bite-sized, cubed pieces of Swiss cheese. Of course, this always depends on your taste for cheese.

Step 1: Dissolve the yeast, salt, and sugar in the warm water. Keeping mixing until you don’t hear the ‘scraping’ of the ingredients on the bottom of the bowl. The yeast won’t bubble because of how much water is being used.

Step 2: Stir in the flour, crushed pepper, pizza seasoning, and Swiss cheese until completely mixed. The dough is going to be very sticky. Which is totally okay because you don’t need to knead the dough! :)

Step 3: Let the dough sit (as is) until it has doubled in size. Mine was ready after 30 minutes, but the most would probably just be an hour.

Step 4: Spray your hands with non stick spray (or just rub some olive oil on them) and ‘cut’ the dough in half with your fingers. The dough is sticky, but it will separate and come off your hands easy enough.

Step 5: Oil your pan and sprinkle with some herbs of your choice (I used Oregano and Basil). Put your two blobs (it’s really what they look like) on the pan. Spray (or rub) the tops of the bread with some olive oil and then sprinkle the tops with those same herbs used on the bottom (Oregano and Basil). And let the dough sit for another 15- 20 minutes.

Step 6: While the dough is sitting, preheat your oven to 425 degrees F. Bake the bread for 10 minutes. Then reduce the temperature to 375 degrees F and bake for 15-20 minutes.

Step 7: When the bread is done cover the tops with a little more olive oil*, let cool on the pan for a bit and then move to a cooling rack to let cool completely.

*This step will keep the crust from getting hard. If you like the crunch of artisan bread then skip this step and just let cool.

DSCN0327

I can’t wait to use chunks of Swiss cheese in this recipe! Enjoy your Artisan Swizza Bread! Let me know if you think up any other alterations to this bread recipe!

2 thoughts on “Artisan “Swizza” Bread

Leave a Reply

