Homemade Goldfish Recipe

Goldfish

So it’s definitely been a while since I have blogged about something that I made… mostly because it’s been a while since I’ve baked anything. (Had to get rid of mold in our oven first, yeah, mold)

The first thing that I made in my oven in our new home was chocolate chip pizza with my best friend! I felt that was a good choice for first time oven use.

DSCN0141DSCN0149

If you want to read more about chocolate chip pizza (and trust me, you do) click: HERE!

But, now to the recipe I know you have been waiting for…

Goldfish

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Shredded Sharp Cheddar Cheese (1 8oz bag)
  • 4 tablespoons Butter  (cold, and cubed)
  • 1 cup All-Purpose Flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon Salt (plus more for sprinkling)
  • 2 tablespoons Cold Water

Step 1: Pulse the cheese, butter, flour and salt together in a food processor until it resembles coarse sand.

Step 2: Pulse in the water, one tablespoon at a time. (It will look like wet sand, you don’t have to pulse it very long)

Step 3: Kneed the dough just until it forms a ball. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 20 minutes.

Step 4: Roll out half of your dough at a time (keeping the unused dough in the fridge until ready). You want to roll your dough out pretty thin (they will puff up in the oven). Cut out whatever shape you want! I just used a the round end of a piping tip to get little circles, and I used a knife to cut actual goldfish shapes… which took a while and is why I only made a few like that. You can find the original recipe HERE . She gives a mini tutorial on how she makes her shapes.

Step 5: Line a baking sheet with either parchment paper or foil and place your shapes on the sheet! You can place them very close to each other, because they won’t spread. Sprinkle with a little extra salt. Pop them in the oven at 325 degrees F (Original recipe says 350, but I found the bottoms to be done a little more than I wanted). Bake the crackers for 15-18 minutes! Or until crispy!

DSCN0168

Store in an airtight container and enjoy your homemade goldfish!

One thought on “Homemade Goldfish Recipe

  1. Pingback: Cheesy Cheddar Balls | SamLovesBaking

Leave a Reply

