Strawberry Fruit Bar (Like Fig Bars, But With Strawberries!)

This morning I woke up, and I knew it would be a baking kind of day.

Granola, Coffee

I haven’t made granola in a while, and Spencer has been requesting fig bars… so I made some coffee (peppermint coffee from Jungle Jim’s) and got started on My “Famous” Maple  Granola. Click on that link to read about it!

Once the maple granola was out of the oven it was time to work on my Fig Bars! I have previously blogged about the classic fig bars… get the recipe here!

I made a batch of regular fig bars… but I also wanted to try something different. We had some dried strawberries laying around, so I decided to prep those like I do with the figs and see what happens.

 

DSCF0069

I cut my dried strawberries in half (1 cup) and soaked them in the hot water just like with the figs!

DSCF0070

The only difference between these Strawberry Fruit Bars, and the Fig Bars, is that I only added about a teaspoon of honey. Strawberries are already pretty sweet as it is. I only added honey to help the pureed strawberries have a thicker paste consistency.

DSCF0075

Pureeing the strawberries took a little longer than the fig did. They were firmer to start with so it took a little longer to break them down.

DSCF0079

As you can see, I prepped my dough and spread out my filling the same as the fig bars!

DSCF0083

Cut and bake the Strawberry Fruit Bars the same way you would with the fig bars. Baking at 350 degrees F for 10 minutes, turning the pan halfway through to ensure even baking. 🙂

DSCF0095

Don’t these babies look good!?

DSCF0096

They actually taste a little like my Strawberry Pastry “Tarts” . You should make both and see for yourself!

DSCF0100

I started off my baking excursion with coffee, and am ending it with Chai Tea. My twin sister got me this mug forever ago; not only do I think of Jesus when I use it… but her as well!

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. -Philippians 4:13

One thought on “Strawberry Fruit Bar (Like Fig Bars, But With Strawberries!)

  1. Pingback: Cobbler Bars: Strawberry | SamLovesBaking

Leave a Reply

