A Recipe for Sweetness: Chocolate Covered Wonderberries

So this is a blog post about chocolate.. and it’s addictive powers. When I was first introduced to Brookside’s Dark Chocolate Covered Pomegranate/Acai Berries I was hooked instantly. I mean seriously as soon as I finished a bag, I needed another one. This went on all summer long. Then Spencer and I went to Trader Joe’s and I was introduced to their Dark Chocolate Covered Powerberries (a combination of pomegranate and acai berries! This instantly became my favorite thing in the whole world. Unfortunately, the past couple times Spencer and I have gone to Trader Joe’s they have been out of those delectable Powerberries… and then we were told by an associate that they are changing suppliers, so who knows if they will be the same. What I’m really trying to tell you is that I decided to experiment with my own version of these wonderful fruit covered chocolate. And I was quite pleased with the results. 🙂 Sure the texture is a little off… I used dried fruit, not some candied jelly fruit that you get in the inside of Brookside’s chocolate fruit and Trader Joe’s chocolate covered fruit. In other words, I’m trying to tell you that this is healthier for you! With no added sugar. Are you ready for the recipe yet?

What you will need:

1/2 cup dried pomegranates (I used pomegranate flavored cranberries)

1/2 cup dried blueberries (I used blueberry flavored cranberries)

Hot water

1/2 bag chocolate of your liking (for melting)

About a tablespoon of vegetable oil

Image

Let’s just say I was a little nervous about how this would end up. I had no idea what to expect at all. So at this point I get my dried pomegranate flavored cranberries, and dried blueberry flavored cranberries. I’m ready to go!

Image

I decided on just trying out 1/2 a cup of each flavor and put each in separate bowls. I then poured enough hot water in each bowl to cover the dried fruit and let them soak for 10 minutes. (The water will tint to the color of the berries)

Image

Then, when my ten minutes were up I fished out the dried fruit with a slotted spoon and spooned them both into my food processor. Add about a teaspoon of one of the soaking water and process away!

Image

You want to process the berries until you have a thick, yet ‘spreadable/smooth’ texture. Like pictured above.

Image

Empty out the pureed fruit into a small bowl and place in the fridge for about an hour. You want the mixture to be cool to handle easier.

Image

After your hour is up (or when your mixture has chilled}) pinch off small amounts of the pureed fruit and roll into mini-bite-sized balls and lay out on a flat (and moveable) surface. Then pop these back in the fridge to let them stiffen back up). You only have to wait 30 minutes this time.

Image

Once your 30 minutes are up, melt up some chocolate (adding a touch of vegetable oil to make the chocolate thinner and easier to work with)!! I melted about a quarter of my bag of chocolate chips at a time with just a smidgen of oil. I was able to cover half of the fruit balls with that batch. So I melted more chocolate chips and added a bit more oil to finish up my fruit.

Image

Stick those freshly chocolate covered fruit balls into the fridge for their final cooling stage! I didn’t time this part of the process because I left to go run errands. But I would say another hour and you should be good for snacking!

Image

Here they are! All cooled off and ready for indulging chocolate lovers 🙂

Image

Oh here is one of them up close. It’s so tempting to eat, right?!

Image

Here is the inside of one of these chocolatey morsels.

Image

Image

I got my chocolate face on. These are that good. And will make you go ‘crazy chocolate eyed’ too!

2 thoughts on “A Recipe for Sweetness: Chocolate Covered Wonderberries

  1. A side note would be that the next time I make these I’m definitely placing the chocolate dipped fruit onto a wire rack so that way the chocolate doesn’t pool around the berries like it did this time. Happy (and healthy) snacking!

Leave a Reply

