Homemade Whole Wheat Fig Bars

Image

Spencer and I really like fig bars.. a lot. Especially good ones (who wouldn’t?)! So I’m not entirely sure why it didn’t dawn on me sooner to try and make some of my own! But the idea finally popped into my head, and here we are! I’ve made some delicious (and healthy) fig bars! When Spencer took a bite of one he said surprisingly, “These taste just like Fig Newtons!”… to which I replied… “Well of course they do! What did you expect?” I bake, but I’m also a comedian.

It really isn’t as hard as you would think to make your own fig bars.. that’s probably why the idea to make these wonderful snacks didn’t occur to me before. I guess I just never thought you could make these at home… but boy was I wrong! And I’m glad I was.

Whole Wheat Fig Bars

What you need:

  • 1 Cup- Dried Figs (chopped)
  • 1 Tablespoon- Honey (plus a little extra)
  • 6 Tablespoons- Unsalted Butter (softened)
  • 1/2 Cup- Sugar
  • 1- Large Egg
  • 1 Teaspoon- Vanilla Extract
  • 1 1/2 – 2 Cups- Whole Wheat Flour

Image

Step 1: First you want to cut off any remaining stems from the figs.. and then chop up your figs into small/medium-ish sizes. For me, I chopped each fig into about 3-4 pieces. Here you can see that I used Sun-Maid dried figs for this recipe! I have no complaints! They worked great.

Step 2: Place the chopped up figs into a small bowl. Fill the bowl with enough hot water to cover the figs completely. Let them soak for 10 minutes. In the picture it had only been a few minutes since putting my figs in the water and the water already started turning a brown-ish color!

Image

Step 3: Remove the figs from the water with a slotted spoon (save the water!) and place in your food processor. Add the honey and a tablespoon of the fig water. Here I added my normal 1 tablespoon of honey.. but then I added another hearty squeeze straight into the food processor. It definitely helped sweeten it up, and made it more spreadable.

Step 4: Puree until the figs become smooth and easy to spread!

Image

Step 5: In a large bowl add your butter and sugar and blend until nice and creamy.. about 2 minutes.

Image

Step 6: Add in your egg and vanilla (I always add a dash more vanilla to all my recipes). Blend again!

Image

Step 7: Slowly add in your flower, mixing by hand (or with a spoon if you don’t want to get dirty). Mix until the flour is well incorporated and a nice, non-sticky, ball of dough forms. Start off with the 1 1/2 cups, and add more if needed. I ended up using 2 cups of flour. This is when I preheated my oven to 350 degrees F.

Image

Step 8: Split the dough in half and roll out the dough on a floured surface. Tip: Roll the dough into a log shape, and then start spreading the dough out with your hands to form the shape you want… in this case a rectangle!

Image

Step 9: Then take your rolling pin and roll out the dough to be roughly 12″x4″. Here you can make the dough any length you want, it just depends on how thin/thick you want it to be and how big of a fig bar you want to make. Don’t roll the dough out too thin or it will break apart when you try to fold it over.. try to shoot for a slightly-thicker-than-thin thickness.

Image

Step 10: Spread half of your fig filling on one side of your dough! Make sure to leave about a 1/4″ border so you can seal off the fig bars!

Image

Step 11: Fold over the dough with no fig mixture, onto the side with the fig mixture and close off the edges. You also want to try to square off the edges if you are going for that traditional fig bar look. Oh it’s looking good now!

Image

I floured my knife before cutting the dough. My first cut! Doesn’t it look good!?

Image

Step 12: Cut your fig rectangle into little fig bars! I was able to get 7 bars out of each half. But you could cut them smaller or bigger! Repeat this same process (8-12) for the remaining half of the dough/fig filling.

Image

Step 13: On a greased pan, place your fig bars! Sprinkle a little extra sugar over the tops of the fig bars!

Image

Step 14: Bake them in the oven for 10-15 minutes! Or until golden brown… make sure to watch the bottom of them so they don’t burn!

Image

Step 15: Enjoy your homemade, whole wheat fig bars!

One thought on “Homemade Whole Wheat Fig Bars

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Fruit Bar (Like Fig Bars, But With Strawberries!) | SamLovesBaking

Leave a Reply

