Mini Version: Monkey Bread

Last night Spencer and I had biscuits and gravy for “brinner”, which left me with extra biscuits! And I knew exactly what I wanted to do with them… So, this morning I have decided to leave a sweet little surprise for my husband: Mini Monkey Bread! So Spencer, if you are reading this before you get home.. get excited!

Image

This recipe is super easy to follow and you don’t need many ingredients at all.

You will need:

  • 1/2 Cup- Butter (melted)
  • 1/2 Cup- Brown Sugar (packed)
  • 1/4 Cup- Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons- Cinnamon (I love cinnamon.. so I ended up using extra)
  • 2 Cans- Buttermilk Biscuits (10 biscuits in each can)

Step 1: Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and prep your muffin tin. This recipe will make 12 mini monkey bread (so you can line the whole thing). Spray your paper with some non-stick spray… because let’s face it, this yummy treat is sticky… and wonderful!

Image

Step 2: Combine the sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Take your biscuits and tear each one into about 4-5 pieces, dip them in the cinnamon-sugar mixture and place 6-8 pieces in each tin cup. (I tear, dip, and place each piece individually to gauge how many I will need to put in each cup to make it even.) The amount of cinnamon-sugar was perfect for this number of biscuit pieces, I barely had any left over… and what I did have left over I just sprinkled over each cup.

Step 3: Melt your butter in small bowl (in my case I used a measuring cut with a spout for easy pouring) and then add in your brown sugar. Mix well!

Image

Step 4: Pour enough of the sugar-butter mixture over each cup to cover the pieces of biscuit and keep it even for each cup. I like pouring a little less than I should and then go back over the cups if I have left over sugar-butter.

Image

Step 5: Pop those suckers in the oven for about 10-15 minutes (or until nice and golden and a toothpick comes out clean).

Image

Step 6: Let them sit for a few minutes still in the muffin tin, and then move them to a cooling rack to finish cooling. (You can see how much they puffed up!)

Image

Now just sit back and enjoy! …of course I had to try one to make sure they were good enough to surprise Spencer with.

4 thoughts on “Mini Version: Monkey Bread

    • They really are super yummy! Another tip: These taste REALLY GOOD warmed back up. Once they cool the sticky sugar will harden (still delicious), but when you heat it back up it gets nice and gooey again!

Leave a Reply

