Pasta’s Love: Alfredo Roll-Ups

DSCF0038

Tonight for dinner I tried a recipe I found on Pinterest that I have been meaning to try… well… for quite some time. I really wish that Pinterest would tell you when you pinned something, because now I’m curious as to how long ago that was.

Side Note: Just learned something new about Pinterest! When you click on a pin that has a recipe, it enlarges (as it always did) but now if you scroll down you can see the ingredients in the recipe without ever clicking on the link! (And no, no one wrote this out) How neat is that! Learn something new every day!

So… back to the recipe. I am kind of notorious for looking at recipes while I cook/bake, but really only using them as guidelines and I tend to stray from exact measurements. In other words, this is how I made dinner tonight:

DSCF0032

My work station! No matter what I’m making.. this is what our counter looks like. My laptop, and all the various ingredients ready at my disposal!

For this recipe I used:

8- Lasagna Noodles (follow prep guide on the box)

1- 15 oz container of Ricotta cheese (mine was actually left overs from another recipe, so I used the whole container minus roughly 1/3 cup)

2 Tablespoons- Parmesan cheese

1 1/3 Cup- Italian cheese blend (the recipe called for Mozzarella, but I didn’t have any)

1- Egg

2 Cups- Spinach (I used the frozen kind. Just make sure to thaw and strain it before using)

2 Cups- Alfredo Sauce (I make my own, but feel free to use your own favorite alfredo recipe!)

Italian Seasoning, Garlic, Salt and Pepper

Directions:

-Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

-Prep the noodles according to the box directions. Make sure that you lay out the noodles to dry before handling them with the cheese filling.

-Mix your ricotta cheese, parmesan cheese, and 1/3 cup of the Italian blend cheese, egg and spinach in a medium sized bowl. Add a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

-Take your pan (I used an 8X8) and coat the bottom with some of your alfredo sauce (about 1/2 cup)

DSCF0029

-Scoop and spread the cheese filling onto each of the noodles. (I found that 2 spoon-fulls were enough to coat each noodle evenly)

DSCF0034

-Roll up your noodles! Don’t these just look so cool? I love the pattern on lasagna noodles.

DSCF0031

-Line your rolls up in the pan! Since I couldn’t get those last two in side by side, like the others, I just turned them sideways and fit them in the middle of the two rows!

DSCF0037

-Then you just pour the remaining alfredo sauce over the noodles, sprinkle with the remaining 1 cup of shredded cheese (in this case the Italian blend) add a bit of garlic powder and Italian seasoning!

-Cover the pan with foil and pop it in the oven for about 40 minutes! (The last five minutes I took the foil off just to help brown the cheese.. but it didn’t brown as much as I wanted it to, I should have let it brown for ten minutes.)

DSCF0038

Out of the oven and ready to enjoy! Over, dinner Spencer and I talked about ways we could ‘bulk up’ this recipe. And I can’t wait to try them! Including adding spicy sausage, and a mixture of alfredo and tomato sauce!

Leave a Reply

