Pumpkin Carving And It’s Yummy Reward

I absolutely love that it is pumpkin season! Carving pumpkins, eating pumpkin flavored everything… is just wonderful! And I know I’m not the only one with pumpkin fever right now. The last time I was grocery shopping, Kroger was having an awesome sale on pumpkins; pumpkins for a dollar! I realize that these are merely baby pumpkins, but for the apartment Spencer and I have, it was the perfect size. So I brought a pumpkin home with me and here is our adventure with it!

DSCF0031

I started by drawing a face on our cute little pumpkin, and Spencer went ahead and hacked away at it!

DSCF0030

Here he is, hard at work! We don’t have pumpkin carving tools, so he was just using kitchen knives. And with how small our pumpkin is, he had a very hard job ahead of him!

DSCF0034

Our pumpkin is almost done! Let’s be honest here, while pumpkin carving is always a ton of fun.. I was more anxious to roast some pumpkin seeds! So… once Spencer finished carving our pumpkin.. I snagged up all the seeds and went to work! (See, I’m supposed to paint the pumpkin now, but that will just have to wait until later)

This was my first time ever making roasted pumpkin seeds, boy was I in for a surprise…

Roasting Pumpkin Seeds:

What you will need: Pumpkin seeds, water, salt, and olive oil. (Oh yeah, this recipe is pretty basic)

DSCF0051

-You start by just cleaning off all the “guts” from the seeds. This was seriously a pain of a process. It took me forever to try to wash and separate the guts from the seeds. I lost a ton of seeds down the drain, and I was getting pretty annoyed. I told Spencer I didn’t care how good these things tasted, I was never going to make roasted pumpkin seeds again.

-Bring some water to a boil and add a couple pinches of salt. Once the water is boiling, add your seeds and let them continue to boil for 10 minutes. Preheat your oven to 325 degrees F.

-Once your ten minutes is up, drain the seeds in a colander and then pat them dry with a paper towel. (They don’t have to be dry-dry, you just want to get a majority of the water soaked up.) The seeds will stick to the paper towel, but by this point they are much easier to just pick off.

-Now you just pour your seeds out onto a pan toss them in a generous amount of olive oil (I didn’t measure this step out, but I made sure all the seeds were evenly coated). After you mix the seeds and the olive oil together spread the seeds out so that way there is minimal overlapping. Now, take your salt and sprinkle the seeds with it! (The amount of salt you use right here is really based on how salty you want the seeds to be. I personally really like salt (a little too much) so when I have snacks like this I apply a generous amount.)

-Now pop those suckers in the oven! Let them bake for 10 minutes.

The recipe that I was using called for mixing the seeds after the 10 minute mark and then baking for another 8-10 minutes. However, at the 9 minute mark I could literally hear the seeds popping in the oven and quickly took them out! I read that as long as the seed inside the outer shell looks a golden color and isn’t brown (it’s been cooked too long if it’s brown) then your seeds are good to go. I cut open a few of the seeds and they looked perfect! So I didn’t bake them any longer.   **Edit: These seeds came from a mini pumpkin, so the seeds are much smaller and that’s why it didn’t take as long to cook**

DSCF0053

-Here are the finished seeds!

At this point I was still vowing to never make these again. It was a lot of work for very few seeds. But then.. I put those crunchy-goodness-of-a-snack-food in my mouth. And I was won over. I will definitely be making these again! Roasting the seeds like this, they seriously taste a lot like popcorn… like popcorn from the movie theater popcorn… but way better for you and filled with nutrition! After trying a few, I did sprinkle some more salt on them once they were finished, but that’s just my taste.

DSCF0058

In case you were wondering how many seeds I made… this is what I have to show for my hard work. These will probably be gone by the end of the day. It’s such a shame, but it just means I will have to make more soon!

*** Also see Pumpkin Carving and Seed Roasting Round II for more pumpkin seed toasting! There are a couple alterations due to the seeds in this current blog being mini… the part II blog uses big seeds!  Enjoy!

One thought on “Pumpkin Carving And It’s Yummy Reward

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Carving and Seed Roasting Round II | SamLovesBaking

Leave a Reply

